Bookmark and Share

Open the online Arabic language course

Open map of SyriaFlag of SyriaSyria / Flag for the French Mandate of SyriaFrench Mandate
Aleppo State
French: État d'Alep
Arabic: dawla halab

Flag of Aleppo State.

In north and eastern Syria, state under French control 1920-1924, as defined by the League of Nations.
The state was largely defined to the historical hinterland of the large city of Aleppo, the lands that local governors of Aleppo traditionally were set to control (Aleppo had only briefly formed independent state).
The capital was Aleppo. It was ruled by governors, local dignitaries. The state had four member government, called the Council of Directors and there was a Representative Council.
The state of Aleppo had the Sanjak of Alexandretta included in 1923.
One of the reasons for creating the Aleppo State was to capitalize on the pride of the Aleppo elite in competition with Damascus. Aleppo was intended to be favoured in this, controlling the main agricultural regions and having access to sea, something that Damascus was bereft of.
The state of Aleppo had about 600,000 inhabitants, dominated by Sunni Muslims, mainly being Arabs and Kurds. There were also several smaller groups, then mainly Circassians, Albanians, Bosnians, Bulgars, Turks. There was also a significant minority of Christians and a small minority of Jews.

1918: With the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, France takes control of the lands of Lebanon and Syria.
1920 September 1: Aleppo State is declared by French general Henri Gouraud.
1922 June 3: A federation is made between the Aleppo State and Damascus State. The Alawite State would join few days later.
1923: Sanjak of Alexandretta is included in Aleppo.
1924 December 1: The Syrian Federation becomes the state of Syria.
1936: Some groups of Aleppo demands separation from the state of Syria, but have no success in this.

By Tore Kjeilen