Bookmark and Share

Open the online Arabic language course

Arabian Sea
Arabic: 'al-bahru l-¢arabīPlay sound

Sea between the Arabian peninsula and the Indian subcontinent that is part of the Indian Ocean.
The Arabian Sea is bordered by Yemen, Oman, United Arab Emirates, Iran, Pakistan, and India. It merges with the Gulf of Oman to the northwest, which flows through the Strait of Hormuz into the Persian Gulf, and the Gulf of Aden in the southwest.
The maximum width of the Arabian Sea is estimated to 2,400 km, and its maximum depth is about 5,000 metres.

By Tore Kjeilen