Bookmark and Share

1. Orientations
a. Figures
2. Koran
3. Theology
4. Concept of divine
5. Sharia
6. Muhammad
7. Cult and Festivals
8. Mecca
9. Cultic personalities
10. Caliph
11. Structures
12. Popular religion
13. Others
14. Calendar

Open the online Arabic language course

Islam / Sharia /
Human Rights in Islam
Also called: Cairo Declaration of Human Rights in Islam

Related articles
Human Rights in Islam (full text)

Principles adopted in 1990 by the Organization of the Islamic Conference (OIC), defined in a charter of 25 articles. The charter is declared to the be to guidance of the members states of the OIC.
The charter was signed by foreign ministers of 45 countries; including (countries covered by this encyclopaedia): Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine as PLO, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates and Yemen.
The charter is defined as an Islamic alternative to the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, which over years had been criticized by several Muslim countries for being secular and guided by Judaism and Christianity.
Central to the declaration is to connect human rights to the regulations of the Sharia, this appear to apply even to non-Muslims. There is no form of protection of the inidividual right to freely choose ones faith. It must therefore be assumed that the charter adhere Sharia regulations for persons abandoning Islam, that they shall be punished by death (see Ridda).
Freedoms are secondary to the obligation to respect religion and the prophets (in plural). The charter therefore does not protect ones right to criticise religion.
A women have clear rights, yet that she is secondary to men in many fields of life.

By Tore Kjeilen